My Dream Publishing Machine

In my dreams, I was publishing without an effort. The day to day reality is completely differnt…

Let’s look on the workflow for publishing a video podcast. The creator needs to create podcast, encode it to different formats, wait for the videos to be uploaded to his/hers favorite platform, add metadata for different publishing tools such as iTunes, and then promote it in digg, delicious, twitter, Faceboook etc. I estimate that it takes at least twice the time to publish a piece than produce it (for a short and simple video podcast). In blogging it is not that different, as well as for audio podcasts.

So, here is my Dream Publishing Machine (AKA DPM….):

Content Creation

I’d like to have a plugin to audio and video editors that will enable me to send files directly to DPM. I don’t want to look for files on my computer- just to send the files to publishing directly

Content processing

I’d like to define in one location the different processes each content piece should go through. For example, I’d like to define all the required file formats in one place. This process should support scheduling as well – so I could export a file to the system, define which encoding are required, and define this task to start at midnight. This way I could continue working and let my Macbook Pro sweat at night… The same goes for audio files.

Content Publishing

DPM should upload my content to my favorite platform with a click. I could define one or more target sites, and DPM would do the rest. I don’t want to look at a progress bar anymore. This feature should support scheduling as well. It should also support multiple platforms, and allow me to define which file format to upload to which platform. As a corporate user I’d also like a to have a customizable and an embed-able flash player that supports all major blogging platforms and social networks. I’d also like to generically add metadata to my files, and that DPM would translate it for each platform.

Content Promotion

DPM should automatically add my content to all relevant bookmarking and life-casting applications. This is extremely time consuming today.

The Dream Publishing Machine could automate all the annoying and time consuming work done manually by podcasters and bloggers.

What’s your opinion? Is there anything like that out there? Or is it a pipe dream?

He Had a Dream too

3 Responses to “My Dream Publishing Machine”


  1. 1 Arik June 4, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Actually regarding creation, processing and publishing – you’re aiming not that high šŸ™‚ The technology exists, and not that complicated. I guess the only reason you don’t see products like that is because it requires a lot of resources (specially the video processing stuff), but there’s not much money in it (I think).

    One day some startup will pickup the idea, so keep writing – that way they will know what to do šŸ™‚

    Regarding content promotion – there’re some tools today like TwitterFeed, which allows you to publish any RSS feed on Twitter which helps , but it’s not perfect and not suitable for any purpose. On the other hand, I don’t really believe that automatic promotion can bring too much real value (people recognize it and don’t like it).

  2. 2 Kfir Pravda June 4, 2008 at 6:48 am

    Arik, thanks for your comments. Not every invention should change the world šŸ™‚ I believe that there is a shift in video production that will increase the amount of online video. This in turn could make such a product a profitable business.

  3. 3 Adam Daniel Mezei June 4, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Hi Kfir,

    Yeah, I’d have to agree totally with Arik there and cite a resource like http://www.utterz.com which I currently opine at — I don’t have to repost to Blip.tv nor Twitter since utterz’s for the most part taking care of this for me.

    Case in point — utterz.com didn’t have a local access number for the Czech Republic (“You’re all a bunch of Russians out there, so what’s the point, eh?!” Hahahaha!) and I griped and kvetched and they issued one for the nation, which was nice. I imagine if I started pining about a very specific feed I’d wanted to have automatically published to when I “utter,” they’d take heed as well and ante up. Just my $0.02…

    Nice post — but ditto on the time-consuming nature without an auto-publishing system out there.

    –ADM in Prague


Leave a Reply

Bookmark Me

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Add to Technorati Favorites

Top Posts

Kfir Pravda's Facebook profile

Archives

Some del.icio.us love!


