How HTC killed my Early Adopter passion – Monday Morning Rant

I consider myself an early adopter. I love technology, especially useful one, and I consider myself innovation junkie.

As such, I am willing to use beta stage products, and play with unfinished products. The deal is clear – as an early adopter, I can use innovative products. In return I am willing to use them even if they are not really working.

HTC killed my passion for gadgets. Really. No new gadgets for me in the next year or so, unless all my friends are using them and they work perfectly.

I have a real need for a smartphone with a keyboard. I am not the stylus kind of guy. So, couple of years ago,  I bought an iMate Kjam. Nice piece of equipment, but a bit old. No 3G, no video calls. It increased my productivity, but the data connection was just too slow. So, a year ago, when my local operator started selling HTC TyTN, I was thrilled to get one. After a lot of nagging I got one, in a discounted price. Sounds great?

Yes, until you start using this stupid extremely malfunctioning piece of equipment. In the first month everything was ok. Until the OS started to crash. Or worse than that – Got stuck. Completely. Only hard reset would bring it back to life. A great feature of restart was that some of the SMS’s and emails were deleted. Yep, gone. While in the case of emails it wasn’t that bad (I use Gmail in any case), text messages are a whole different story. You can’t retrieve them. Gone baby gone.

WiFi is great isn’t it? Yes, but when using it, it drains the battery. Kaput. So it is basically unusable.

Open and honest, I am sick and tired of using overpriced devices that don’t work. Can vendors please create high end gadgets with minimal correlation to their price? I am not asking much. Just that the basic functions would work properly. I don’t care if it is a hardware problem or an OS problem. For me, I care about one thing only – that the damn thing would work… There is a limit for what even I, an early adopter, am willing to accept…

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “How HTC killed my Early Adopter passion – Monday Morning Rant”


  1. 1 Gilad Nass February 25, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    well, having been in the same scenario with my (now retired) iMate JasJam (replaced with Nokia N95, which turned out to be a great phone for early adopters) I recommend you change the post’s headline to “how Windows Mobile killed etc.”

  2. 2 Gadi Shimshon February 25, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    I know that feeling.. but you can not and will not change your passion. you’ll just go on suffering, like the rest of us :>

  3. 3 Kfir Pravda February 26, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Gilad – how do you cope with the lack of keyboard? And Gadi – you are probably right 😦


  1. 1 First Days With Nokia E71 - Review « Pravda on Media, Technology, and Rebel Filmmaking Trackback on September 4, 2008 at 7:39 am

Leave a Reply

Bookmark Me

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Add to Technorati Favorites

Top Posts

Kfir Pravda's Facebook profile

Archives

Some del.icio.us love!


